Call Back for Opt Out?

We’re starting to get some activity on this Blog as well as the Stop Tom Facebook Community.  One of the common questions I’ve been getting is, does it do any good to call back and punch in your number to be taken off their list. We know that telemarketers are required to identify themselves and to provide a call back number so that recipients can be placed on their do-not-call list. In this case the telemarketers seem to be trying to skate by the rule, failing to identify themselves, but offering a method to opt out. I don’t know if it’s a legitimate opt out or not, but the following comments from readers offer some actual experience:

 “S Kramer”:

 FYI, if you call them back and press “1″ to remove, they just start calling you from one of their other numbers… last week they called me from a 503 area code, I called back & hit “1″ to remove, and they just started calling me from a 360 area code today – ugh!!

“Clearlynotgoingto”:

I’ve called the numbers back (with my caller ID blocked, of course) and a recording comes on thats states if I want to bee taken off their caller list to enter my phone number. So what I do instead of entering my own number is punch in the phone numbers of the other telemarketer numbers.

“E Daniel”:

 I have pressed 1 twice now, just a different # and caller ID after

Based on these comments it would appear to be a ruse. I haven’t tried to enter my number for fear it would confirm a valid number and the result would be many more calls. Readers will have to make their own decision about whether to try or not. It would be great to hear more comments on this.

4 Responses to Call Back for Opt Out?

  1. Lou says:

    I wouldn’t even bother. The fact is, “Tom” ignores the national Do Not Call registry to begin with. What makes you think he’ll obey any requests to opt-out when he’s already breaking the law?

  2. StopTom says:

    To those anonymous individual(s) leaving comments:

    1. I will not debate telemarketing statutes or FCC rules with you in these comments or elsewhere. Alarm company employees can email me from a working address, not post anonymous claims.

    2. If you believe a specific post is factually incorrect, then please identify it along with a citation or link to support your claim. Just saying that the FCC says it’s OK doesn’t meet the standard.

    3. I have attempted to speak with Executives of every company listed on this site to discuss my complaints, many of which have nothing to do with the actual “Tom” call, but with claims made by the phone reps trying to sell an alarm system. Not a single Senior Manager would accept a call or speak with me about anything. If that has changed please email me the phone # and extension and I’ll be in touch.

  3. ATL says:

    I figured out how to stop the calls – thought I’d share.

    I found out Tom is actually a pre-recorded bot who responds based on answers you give him. He tries to sell you a wireless home security service in exchange for placing a sign outside your house. I had tried calling the number back and pressing “1” but this didn’t work at all. I finally gave in and answered the call. Robot Tom asked how I was doing, I said “good”. He then asked if I was interested in his home protection services, I replied “OK” to keep going with the ruse. Then he asked if I owned the home I lived in, I replied “I rent”. To that answer he responded “Thanks for your time” and hung up. Seems that if you don’t own your house he has no interest in selling his product.

    This doesn’t stop the root of the problem, and there may be calls to follow, but for those looking for a quick way to get off the list this is what worked for me. Good luck.

  4. K says:

    I am on the do not call list, have filed multiple complaints, and still get spurts for over a year now. There appears to be no legitimate way to stop them. I twice have gone through the whole process to give them false appointments thinking that would stop them. Once I gave the HQ of the FCC in DC and another time the Hustler Club in San Francisco. On the latter one the installer called me prior to validate because he recognized the address and knew it was a joke.

    So after 5 more calls in the last 3 days I am refining my strategy and hope others pick this up. If they get lots and lots of these maybe it will become financially unsustainable.

    I checked the crime statistics in a city near me to find a handful of the worst neighborhoods. Next I used Google Maps and Street view to “drive” around and pick an address that was residential and particularly undesirable looking. Final step I made a note of the full address.

    Next time Tom calls I will be arranging for an evening appointment in an area that really needs some extra security.

