Update on who’s using “Tom” to generate prospects

Based on my investigation, the “Tom” calls are coming from across the home security industry. The major dealers of the largest monitoring companies are deeply involved. In general they deny any knowledge, although I have reports that some front line Alarm Sales Reps acknowledge that Tom works for them. A short sample includes:

VMS Alarms (RI) — Versatile Marketing Solutions Inc.- Monitronics Dealer

Maximum Security Alarm (CA) – Monitronics Dealer

Saveology (FL) — The Elephant Group Inc. – ADT Dealer

Vision Security (UT) — Security Networks Dealer

Keep in mind the dealers market, sell, and install (equipment), and get a lump sum payment for the value of the contract from the monitoring company. They use some of that cash to pay for Tom. The smoking gun would be to link “Tom” to a monitoring company directly but I think that will be difficult. There is no question that they know about it. I’ve personally communicated with executives with ADT and Monitronics about Tom. They disavow the calls, claiming it’s a dealer, not them. Convenient huh?

Stay tuned, I’ll be revealing the people behind these organizations soon. And remember:

EVERY SINGLE CALL TO YOUR WIRELESS PHONE (without your explicit permission) IS ILLEGAL.

Send tips and info to helpstoptom AT gmail or visit the “Help Stop Tom” Facebook Community.

Jim B.

Houston, TX

9 Responses to Update on who’s using “Tom” to generate prospects

  1. David F says:

    “Tom” has been calling me (in Wichita KS) almost daily (and often 2-3 times a day when “he” does) for about a month now. I finally picked up the phone today and found as mentioned in a post here that “Tom” doesn’t respond to just any answer, disconnecting when I only mumbled ‘Mmm-hmm’ in reply to how I was today. I then dialed the number shown on caller ID, which was answered by a more recognizably recorded message in a woman’s voice stating “Hello and thank you for calling back. You have received a marketing call from a commercial entity or one of it’s representatives. If you would prefer to not receive future calls and be removed from our calling list, press 1 at any time………..”. I did press 1, but am doubtful that this will end the calls within the 24 hours then promised. This setup is definitely in violation of FCC Telephone Consumer Protection Act, and I’m happy to help in any way to get them shut down. The number being used to call me is 425-390-8156.

    • StopTom says:

      David,

      As you learn, many many dealers are using “Tom”. It’s an industry wide issue, across the largest monitoring companies.

      Please do this: Take the next call and play along with Tom and get connected to a dealer. No need to share ANY information with the callers but be cool, sound interested. They’ll soon enough reveal who they are and that’s what we need. They need a dealer in the Wichita area to install and close the deal. This is the weak link that we need to discover.

      Keep a pic of your caller ID or phone log. Share what you learn here or via email to helpstoptom AT gmail.

      Thanks!

      Jim

  2. nataleigh says:

    Jim, thanks so much for taking the time to document your struggles so thoroughly. I got a call on my cell phone Feb 2 and answered, as I worked for an Oregon-based company for a long time, only to be connected with a WOMAN who said she was from Home Protection. I told her I don’t own a home and to remove the number from their list…got a call Feb 3 at 12:01 and 4:53 (ignored both), then had three days off…Feb 7 rolls around and I’ve got calls at 2:06, 4:59, and 7:02 (all ignored). Next time I’m able to get signal, I will most definitely play along and try to get as much info as I can. I want to see these jerks get what they deserve!

  3. StopTom says:

    To those anonymous individual(s) leaving comments:

    1. I will not debate telemarketing statutes or FCC rules with you in these comments or elsewhere. Alarm company employees can email me from a working address, not post anonymous claims.

    2. If you believe a specific post is factually incorrect, then please identify it along with a citation or link to support your claim. Just saying that the FCC says it’s OK doesn’t meet the standard.

    3. I have attempted to speak with executives of every company listed in this post to discuss my complaints, many of which have nothing to do with the actual “Tom” call, but with claims made by the phone reps trying to sell an alarm system. Not a single Senior Manager would accept a call or speak with me about anything. If that has changed please email me the phone # and extension and I’ll be in touch.

  4. Cameron says:

    I have received probably upwards of 80 calls from “Tom” in the last few months. Everytime I opt out of the automated calls I receive a call soon after (usually a day or two) from a different number, and it’s “Tom” just like every other call. I have played along before and someone real called me back approx. 30 minutes later and tried to sell me the security system. When I told them I wasn’t interested, and that I wanted to be removed from their list they said no problem and it would take about 24 hours to take effect. Obviously, not the case. So, I keep letting the calls go and calling back to opt out. Today, I just played along with “Tom” and he instantly transfered me to a representative of GE Promotions to explain the specifics of the offer. I gave them a fake name and started getting specifics. He told me Monitronics would do the monitoring. I left if at I was going to price shop and they could get back to me in a few days. I’m thinking of giving them a fake address and telling them to give me the works. I would like to meet the installer and let him know what I think of the company he’s paying to give him leads.

  5. BSN says:

    STOP TOM TODAY. ITS EASY. HERE’S HOW I JUST DID IT. FOR WEEKS I HAVE BEEN GETTING CALLS FROM CALLERID TEXAS (281) 918-3003. ALL YOU HAVE TO DO IS ANSWER THE PHONE WHEN HE ROBOCALLS YOU AND JUST SIMPLY SAY NOTHING. NOTHING. THEN. AFTER A FEW MOMENT HIS VOICE WILL SAY SOMETHING LIKE OH SORRY TO HAVE BOTHERED YOU. OR HE WILL ACKNOWLEDGE NO ONE ON THE PHONE SO HE APOLOGIZES AND DISCONNECTS. DONE. NO MORE CALLS FROM HIM!!! YEAH!!!

  6. Nathan says:

    I have a similar experience to Cameron above. 50+ calls a month, changing #’s (usually from Washington, Oregon, and Montana), and when I actually connect to a real person and explain what’s going on and ask to be taken off – nothing ends up changing. This has actually been going on for at least six months, although it randomly has stopped for a month or so twice now.

    When I have a bit of time when they call I might try to fish out more of the installer’s info and post it here. I’m in the D.C. area.

  7. Jon K. says:

    Ugh! I hate robocaller Tom! He has called me at least 50 times within the last 3 months. There is no way i can get him to stop! It’s the same message everytime. “Hi, it’s Tom with Home Protection. We are offering you a free home security system if you will allow us to place a sign in your front yard. First, let me verify with you, are you the home owner? Ok, great. Now I just need to get you over to one of our representatives who can tell you more and take down your personal information to schedule a meeting” I usually just hang up as soon as I hear “Hi, it’s Tom with Home Protection”. I have called the number back. (today’s number was 503-468-5227) and I get the same message “Hello, and thank you for calling back. You have been received a marketing call from a commercial entity or one of it’s representatives. If you would prefer to not receive future calls and be removed from our calling list, press 1 at any time.” I press 1 but TOM KEEPS CALLING ME BACK! I’m pretty sure the only thing that pressing 1 does is verify your phone number. I have even played along with Tom before and spoke to someone who wanted to come out and speak with me about the installation. I think next time I’m going to schedule a meeting and just let these d-bags come over to my house when I’m at work. Waste their time just like they waste mine.

  8. Beedoo says:

    No, BSN, that’s when Tom starts calling from a different number. I’ve tried the silent tactic before, and, at MOST, it’s stopped the calls for only two weeks.

    And the one time I did bother to greet with a “Hello” (and discovered “Tom” on the other end, from his Oregon number), I offendedly let Tom know I owned no home and had no need of protection for one. Still getting calls.

    This jerk, group of jerks, or whatever, doesn’t know when to quit. Kudos to everyone taking action against Tom!

