CHANGE -**NEWS ALERT**- NBC News will air a report this week about “Tom”!

A report on unlawful telemarketing and the inability of the FTC to stop these calls will air this (UPDATE:) Friday, April 27th at about 7:40 AM (CST I think) on NBC News’  TODAY show. A source close to the investigation tells me that Jeff Rossen, National Investigative Correspondent for NBC News TODAY will present the story of how these calls have continued unabated, even in the face of direct requests by consumers, sanctions by state regulators, and class action lawsuits by plaintiffs. A high profile dealer for Monitronics, who was recently awarded an “F” rating to replace their lost accreditation with the Better Business Bureau,  will be featured in the piece.

This report will likely be viewed by millions of Americans who just like us have been getting these calls with no ability to make them stop. Share this news with those you know, and ask them to participate by sharing details about their experience here on this web site. It’s very, very helpful to know the name of the dealer involved with the calls, as well as the numbers that can be directly linked to them. The state regulators responsible for policing Alarm Systems Companies, sale persons, and installers are becoming more aware of this conduct and have given me the indication that with supporting details they will take action. In my state of Texas, violations of the alarm statute can bring criminal penalties to include a Class A misdemeanor with up to 1 (one) year in jail and a $10,000 fine per violation.

Thanks for your help and together we really will STOP TOM!

You can share via social media with the buttons below!

(Photo credit: NBC News)

10 Responses to CHANGE -**NEWS ALERT**- NBC News will air a report this week about “Tom”!

  1. Dave says:

    I live in the Dallas area and have been getting calls from Tom for months. But as of today i have now received a call from Shawn for Home Protection. Nice twist…..

    • David Kerchner says:

      I have been receiving calls from Tom for months and have asked to be removed at least 6 times. I also belong to the “Do Not Call List.”

    • DB says:

      Ok, 3 calls in 2 days from Shawn from Home Protection. I got a live person named Johnathan from Vivint Home Security. Would not give me any more information. Told him to stop calling me.

      • StopTom says:

        What phone number showed up on the caller ID? Was it a live transfer or a call back from Vivint? Did “Shawn” identify a company name other than Home Protection?

  2. Bob says:

    Jeff Rossen ‏ tweets: http://twitter.com/#!/jeffrossen

    CHANGE: #RossenReports on Telemarketing Tactics has been moved to friday on TODAY. See ya then…

    1:41 PM – 25 Apr 12 via Twitter for BlackBerry® · Details

  3. Anonymous Commenter says:

    Just saw the report on the Today show just now. Outstanding! Its about time it gets on National TV. However, I was left scratching my head as to why the Feds have not gone after VMS bith criminally and civilly. That seems like low hanging fruit.

  4. Randi Baker says:

    Thank you for this report. I have just received six emails from “Tom” in the last four hours on my cell phone. I have sent your report link to Senator Maria Cantwell and hope that many others do the same thing.

  5. Ruth says:

    I don’t know which one of thes creeps called me several times this week from 206-496-0439 Seattle. No response when I answered and when I called back, got recording saying this number was not in service. I have heard that repeatedly pressing pound key would confuse the robocaller. Can’t anything be done to stop this!!!

