Important Phone Provider Survey

UPDATE:

This informal, anecdotal survey doesn’t provide any data to support the claim that users of one single provider are more likely to get the “Tom” calls. However, it’s clear to me now that the bulk of readers are responding about calls to their wireless phones. This is what frustrated me as well; the relentless calls to my cell phone. And it helps explain the lack of caller ID information shared by readers, specifically what company names are displayed in the CID window, as wireless phones just show the number.

Thank you!

ORIGINAL POST:

I have reason to believe that consumers using a specific phone provider may be more likely than others to receive the “Tom/Shawn/John with Home Protection” calls. Please take the survey below and help me collect some anecdotal data.

5 Responses to Important Phone Provider Survey

  1. escribacat says:

    My troubles began almost as soon as I got my new AT&T phone, a couple months ago.

  2. Hayden says:

    I get calls from these retards nearly every week, and some weeks are worse than others. Yesterday, I got two calls back to back, and that seems to have become the norm in the last several weeks. I have been registered with the DNC list since the day it came out back in 2003. I have never, ever, ever answered one single time. Never. I always let unknown callers go to voicemail. In fact, I even added the official “telephone disconnected tone” to the beginning of my voicemail greeting in the hopes that it would stop the robo calls. For a while, I saw a big reduction in these calls, but in recent years, they have come roaring back to the point of harassment. I am on AT&T Wireless and have had the same number for about 9 years, which I do not give out to anyone but friends. I just don’t understand why these calls plague me like they do, and I so appreciate the work you are doing to stop them.

  3. Anon says:

    AT&T would be the said provider for my service.

  4. no more spam says:

    How about showing us the poll results so I can just up and cancel At&t for a reason.

  5. greenmeanie says:

    FWIW, my wife and I have had our cell #’s for YEARS here in the Orlando FL area. First with AT&T then about a year and a half ago we switched to Verizon keeping our old numbers. Mid-ish last year (2011) I started getting the Tom (and others) calls, and spam texts, but not her.

    My number is 407-XXX-XX60 and hers is 407-XXX-XX59.

