Attention Dealers: Use a false name at your peril!

As you know, I’m just a Dad, business owner, and community leader who operates this blog as part of my individual efforts to curtail these home security calls. Like many of you I’ve been very busy handling my “regular” responsibilities, but rest assured there has been work behind the scenes.

I have found that a particular group, ISI Alarms of North Carolina, has been particularly aggressive in using a technique to disguise their identity and avoid sanctions such as litigation. They’re  very, very careful now, using the name “Security Call Center” or “Honeywell Call Center” or another name. This may be a short term barrier but it creates even greater liability for them. My state of Texas explicitly bans the use of any name or identity other than that of the licensed alarm company. Sanctions include criminal penalties to include a $10,000 fine and up to 1 (one) year in jail.

I’ll suggest to those alarm dealers and others in the industry who follow this blog, and I know that you do, you’ll continue this charade of phony names at your peril. Criminal investigations require resources but  carry more weight and more risk than a few thousand dollars paid to a pro se litigant.

More soon!

 

 

2 Responses to Attention Dealers: Use a false name at your peril!

  1. Ben says:

    When they use fake names and spoofed telephone numbers as part of their robo-calling, you are not consenting to their call when you feign interest in order to discover exactly who is placing the call. And setting up an appointment to see who shows up does not constitute consent either – be sure to get their business card, vehicle license plate via a photograph if possible, and contract – after you have those items, ask them to mail [US Mail/FedEx/UPS only] you their written policy on how they handle DNC issues.

  2. Ruth says:

    ISI Alarm has been harassine me for 3 months, despite repeted requests for them to stop. Return calls from me always resulted in “this number has been disconnected” messages. Until yesterday.

    704-243-9425
    And
    704257-7375

    I have called 50+ times and let them believe I am interested. I waste 20 minutes of their time, then start to repeat their script back to them. Over and over and over… just as they have done to me.

    After several hours, I really started to get some heated reactions from them. Its fun and a hysterical way to get them back for the harassment they are putting us through with their illegal robo calls, call masking and blocking, and refusal to comply with the dnc registry.

